Blogging on…blogging off

Over the past few weeks since I last made an appearance on here, I’ve written some really brilliant posts. No, seriously, I have. I wrote one about the disapproving comments I’ve been receiving as I made the decision to find a job that fit around my husband and daughter’s needs (i.e. a casual evening job), thus postponing indefinitely the return to my oh-so-important profession as a teacher. Well, it is important, just not quite as important, and – let’s be completely honest here – not one billionth as much FUN as it is to take my daughter out on new and exciting adventures each day while consuming lots of home-baked goodies.

I wrote a post speculating on the perils of inviting other people’s kids over for play-dates and sleepovers – in light of the landmark $900k court case involving a boy who fell out of a bunk bed whilst sleeping over at a friend’s house. Now that’s one hell of an expensive sleepover. I blogged about my newfound passion for cooking and moaned about the demise of cooking ‘from scratch’ upon discovering Aisle One in my local supermarket – you know the aisle with all the ‘ready-made’ sauces, meal kits, noodles and gravy mixes? Seriously, I don’t think I’d been down that aisle since at least 1998 and it left me feeling rather deflated and dejected I can tell you. I even wrote a piece about birth from the baby’s point of view and how the way a baby comes into the world can have pretty serious implications for the rest of their lives…

The problem is, all of my brilliant posts have been written after midnight…in my head…while lying in bed…and nowhere in the vicinity of my laptop. I thought that I’d be able to remember the gist of them and just write up the next day, but I’ve discovered that the transfer process from late-night ramblings to screen fodder is actually a very difficult and arduous ordeal. I just can’t seem to do it. I start and within ten minutes my mind (and body) have wandered elsewhere…to the pantry to hunt down a snack…to the kitchen to start preparing dinner…to the laundry to load another pile of washing. See, I’m only able to hop on to the laptop while the toddler is having her afternoon nap. But that ninety minutes of pure bliss is so fleeting that I simply can’t bring myself to plonk down in front of the computer and type. I’d rather experiment with a new dish, find a recipe for an easy chocolate pudding or have a quiet fossick around in my new herb garden. Basically my priorities have been rejigged, and the days where I’d be hanging out for a forum-fix and surfing time are long gone. Baking oatmeal and choc-chip cookies, however, is at the top of my list for today…see you in a while!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MummyTiff on July 5, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    I hear you perfectmum! I am the same! I write all my blogs in my head while I’m out for a run but when the kids go to bed for the night (the only time I have to write – I have to do work during their daytime naps) all I want to do is flop out on the couch and I can’t put a coherant word together in blog form!

    I kid you not I have about 6 blogs half started and Sunday comes and goes and I feel like I’m letting this blogging community down!

    I WILL finish one, I WILL!

    Reply

  2. Ladies give your self a break… your doing a great blogging job, in mind and online 😉

    I love reading your posts, keep up the great work.

    Soph

    p.s OMG …… Im still stuck on the bunkbed story *gasp*

    Reply

  3. Ladies give your self a break… your doing a great blogging job, in mind and online 😉

    I love reading your posts, keep up the great work.

    Soph

    p.s OMG …… Im still stuck on the bunkbed story *gasp*
    Sorry, forgot to add great post! Can’t wait to see your next post!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Coran on July 6, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Heh, you’re doing better than me – there’s one in my head that I meant to post nearly two weeks ago, but I can’t seem to find the intersection of time and energy. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by plahski on July 6, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    I just want to write something both funny and astounding… is that too much to ask? hehe

    Reply

  6. Posted by MummyTiff on July 6, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    If you figure out how Pip do let me know!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

