More Firsts

We had a couple of firsts on Sunday. The more children you have, the more ‘first times’ you get.  That much is obvious.  What surprised me is that they’re all just as special.

My eldest son went out on Saturday with my father for a bit of grandfather/grandson bonding time and at the end of the day he came home with a model kit that my father bought for him at the Australian War Memorial. The kit makes a 1:72 scale UH-1B Iriquios, that quintessential helicopter of the Vietnam war.  It even has the decals for an RAAF variant. I must admit I was a little proud to see a model kit in my son’s hands, because it was something that I did as a kid and it’s a hobby that’s all but died out. I have fond memories of putting together the little plastic models and even painting them properly, when I was old enough to have the patience, so it’s heartwarming and nostalgic to see my son with a model. Even better that than, he’s excited about it and wants to put it together as soon as possible.

So we had an impromptu trip into the city to visit the closest hobby store that still sells plastic model glue. I’d already told my son how we’d (I say “we”, but I’m going to try really hard to let him do most of it) have to paint the parts first, then let the paint dry before the model can be assembled. I almost wish I’d just let him get on with making the think without painting it, because it turns out that the glue, primer, paints and brush cost three times what the model actually cost, but my son was all excited about picking out the right colours and I couldn’t, just couldn’t, let my son down and walk out of there without the right paints. It’s his first model, after all, and it would be nice to do a good job of it. So when we got home, we started painting my big boy’s first model.

While we were shopping, my wife sent me a text message. We had another first. My baby girl has cut her first tooth, at 11 months and 12 days. It’s still at that stage where you can’t quite see it, but you can definitely feel it if she’ll let you stick a finger into her gob. I’m sure that pretty soon it will be visible, and sharp enough to make you yelp if she clamps down on your finger.

When I was a younger man, BC, I wondered whether having a family of eleven or thirteen, like my great-grandparents did, took the shine off it just a little bit. Would the eleventh ‘first step’ be as special as the first? Now I know the answer.  Baby Girl took her first step just over 2 weeks ago.  It’s just as fabulous watching her learn to walk as it was watching our first child learn to walk, and the second, and the third.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Capricious on July 23, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    I’m so pleased to hear that they are all as special. I have found that the things that are least expected can be really special too, like the first time that Toby patted the dog (rather than grabbed her) Or when he stood holding onto the front door when he heard his Dad’s car come into the driveway. Congratulations on your most recent firsts Coran!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michelle on July 29, 2009 at 7:56 am

    This makes me really happy to hear too Coran – I only have a daughter but we hope to have more children one day. I guess these types of things are something that I think about – will our next child be as happy as our daughter is, will we even notice when she starts grabbing things etc. It sounds like we will 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

