The OTHER reasons for using cloth nappies

Don’t you think it’s funny that as soon as nappies are mentioned people start talking about the environment? I mean do we choose our baby’s clothes according to what’s best for the environment? Or their toys? I just think it’s strange that if nappies are mentioned it must mean that some of us are more or less environmentally friendly than others. I’m a cloth user but don’t think I’m all that environmentally friendly, as I sit here on my computer with the air conditioner and TV going and several lights on. I suppose it’s because we all have a sneaking suspicion that nappies are worse than our other baby things because we have so many of them, but let’s be honest about it.

These are the reasons I chose to use cloth nappies:

  • Where I was living our rubbish was all burnt in a 40 gallon drum in the front yard. Imagine burning all that poo and plastic – yuck! Actually I think putting poo in the bin for a week is pretty revolting too.
  • They’re waaaaay cheaper. Even if I wasn’t making my own all the nappies I have is about 6 months worth of disposables, and I’m a bit of a scrooge.
  • They’re comfortable – I hate, loathe and despise disposable menstrual pads, I’m not doing that to my poor little bubbas!
  • I think sposies smell. Seriously, I can smell them in the packet. I’m sure I’d get used to them, but it’s a shock because I’m not used to it.
  • It gave me something to do and a sense of accomplishment. When I was first at home and completely clueless I could say, I achieved something today I’ve washed the nappies. Later they were something to do when it got boring singing nursey rhymes over and over or playing peekaboo. Widget never needed any of those toys with the different textures because she helped with the nappies, and now they are a good reason to get out in the fresh air.
  • Sposies don’t fit my girls. To get something to go around their legs means they are ridiculously long and baggy. The same thing happened with cloth, but at least I had the option of making my own, or looking at different brands to find different fits.
  • They’re reliable. I’m probably just really bad at putting them on, but we’ve had a poosplosion every time I’ve used sposies.
  • I really freaked out when Widget got those little crystal things all over her. They may be harmless but I didn’t like it.
  • They’re cute and I can justify buying them. I hate having gorgeous outfits that they only wear once, it’s such a waste. But with nappies I can get them something really nice and not feel guilty about it because I know they’ll use them lots.

What about you? I’m interested in any reasons for nappy choice, sposies too!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Liza on September 2, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I totally agree, especially with the smell of them. I to am very sensitive to it, although others think I am crazy.
    I came to look for the icon but have enjoyed reading so once I have it I will be back.

    Reply

  2. Posted by felicity on September 2, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Cloth nappies are much harder for bubs to pull off!

    Reply

    • You’re right! I have a little one ripping off velcro covers at the moment, even side snaps she can get one undone but not actually off. We’re using snappis or I’ve made some pullup covers for nights 🙂

      Reply

  3. Posted by Niki on September 4, 2009 at 9:02 am

    I found the icon last night and decided to venture back this morning with my Coffee.

    I used Terry flats with my two boys (now 6 and 7) and my reasoning was cost efficiency as we went from a 2 income to 1 income household. We would use disposables while out but cloth at home. They were fiddly and I hadn’t yet discovered covers so those icky plastic pilchers would more often than not be broken or thrown out in a poosplosion.

    I have discovered MCN’s this time and have fallen in love. I too am not all that environmentally friendly. I dry most of my clothes in the dryer; buy prepackaged snacks most of the time for the kids and go through stages of guilt where I clean up my act and start being an eco-warrior, only to fall offd the bandwagon for convenience; but I do agree that they look to be a great investment (I wont find out until sometime in the next 3 weeks when bub comes out) and they’re so pretty that I’m hoping I wont need to worry about pants in summer – just throw her in a singlet and a MCN and she’s dressed for the day.

    Reply

    • That’s what I’ve always done, but we’ve lived in the tropics and desert. I never buy bottoms – I only have ones we’ve been given – and I get so many comments 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

