The start of an addiction…..

Little did I know when I attended a baby expo a few months before my daughter was born that that day was the start of an addiction far greater than my addiction to chocolate and icecream!

I had already looked into modern cloth nappies (MCNs) as I remember many years before even thinking about having kids I had seen some in a mainstream magazine being road-tested and remember thinking what a great idea they were. They had stuck with me and I had googled them when I first found out I was pregnant, purchased a few online and then spent most of the expo comparing brands, styles, and prices!

What a minefield……..where does one start when embarking on the cloth nappy road? Terry flats would be the obvoius place. Straightforward, easy to use, reasonably priced. My problem with these was that I am hopeless at folding, couldn’t find pilchers anywhere and had no idea that PUL covers or wool covers were available! I had never heard of uch a thing! So I was enticed by the look of MCNs and their ease of use and started out buying about 6 at this particular expo.

When my daughter was born she was too small to wear them so ironically she started out in terry squares (I had discovered covers following the expo!) then moved to the MCNs. I washed a lot and worked my way through those initial 6 expo nappies and the few I had bought online for a couple of months before trying out a new one here, a different one there, and “just one more” from my favourite online store! Before I knew it I had about 40+ nappies in varying shades of pink, purple, or white. Actually thankfully I always bought a few greens, and yellows too because child number 2 is a boy – the perfect excuse the gender stereotype and spend more money on nappies…….blue ones! Actually the majority of my son’s nappies are my daughters old pink ones and he wears them with pride but I did have great fun buying some new nappies for him.

I’m pretty stuck in my cloth nappying ways now but every now and then I’m on the look-out for what is new and the opportunity to spend more money……….and now is the perfect time of the year, hunt time!

9 responses to this post.

  1. I was wondering if you, seeing you seem greatly experienced with many brands ;), could pass on some brand wisdom to me. I want to get into MCN’s predominantly for my 1 year old boy but my almost 3 is still in nappies too (hopefully not for long!). But I don’t know which brands to go for…until the hunt I didn’t realise how many there were!

    I don’t want to have to wash too often (but realise that it won’t be a once per week job) or change nappies too often either!

    If you could help me out that would be great!!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Julie on September 10, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Do you have any favourite brands??? Thinking of making a purchase during GDNH but not sure what to buy.

    Thx Jules

    Reply

  3. Unfortunately it’s very difficult to recommend nappies for someone else. What suits really depends on things like fit, your weather, your washing routine, who changes, how often you change, … so something that’s brilliant for one person won’t work at all for someone else.

    What I would strongly suggest is that you buy one of each of several different nappies, see especially if you can get seconds or second hand ones. A lot of nappies that are sold second hand have only been used a couple of times and didn’t suit, so they’re still in really good condition. Then when you’ve tried a lot you can see which ones suit you best.

    Personally I use a lot of terry flats and nudeybum, then side snap pockets when we go out. Side snaps give a better fit on bubs with chunky thighs and I love the convenience of pockets. At night I use fitteds with a lot of boosting and a PUL or fleece cover.

    Have a look at Used Nappies or Buy for Baby to pick up some cheap ones.

    Reply

  4. Posted by mummytiff on September 11, 2009 at 12:59 am

    I have to agree with Deb – hence why I have 40+ nappies! I kept trying different ones! And what worked for my daughter at a certain age was no good for my son. My daughter has skinny pins so unlike Deb’s little one side snaps were no good for her! They’re good for my son though! πŸ™‚

    If you do want names just to start searing around (I wouldn’t have had a clue where to start either!) I have used Pea Pods, I use a lot of BumGenius One-Size Pockets, some Bubblebubs, I am the proud owner of a Waggle Wee Kids nappy πŸ™‚ and I love Green Kids for chunky thighs. Then you have to look at whether you prefer AIOs or pockets, if drying time is an issue for you………..so much to consider! Do come back and ask more questions as they arise though – more than happy to help πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Posted by Julie on September 12, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Thx. You guys know my boofa boy is huge, nice chunky thighs – see the latest facebook update. Hehe. I don’t even know what a side snap is LOL

    Reply

  6. Well there’s Cherub’s Kiss Auriels πŸ˜€ Unfortunately that’s a bit of a joke – they are such gorgeous nappies they are like hen’s teeth to get hold of, although I think Lesley does a ‘newbies lottery’ through her newsletter.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Julie on September 14, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Tiff if you could buy anything for Sammy that’s an AIO what would you choose?

    Reply

  8. Posted by mummytiff on September 15, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Ohhh that’s a hard one because I don’t normally go for AIOs (due to the drying time) and so I don’t have a lot of experience with them. I would probably go for a BumGenius AIO however there seems to be a downside to each nappy and the downside here is that they’re sized. The upside though is that Sammy has been in L’s since he was about 5 months old so even though he moved through the early sizes quickly (waste of money) we are getting a lot of use out of the L’s!

    Reply

  9. Hey Julie, Whizz Kids has some fitted (non-waterproof) side snaps in stock and does all-in-ones. Cotton Bottom has the Swaddlebees and Motherease AIOs, they’re both very well-known brands. Bubblebubs has Cute Tooshies AI2s that look absolutely gorgeous, they’re a new one to me. Beetlebums are gorgeous, but all sold out – you definitely need to be on a mailing list for them.
    I haven’t actually used these because brands have changed so much in the last 4 years, but they are reliable retailers. A lot of it is going to come down to individual fit – the reason there are so many brands is because different patterns suit different babies. The hunt is a great chance to buy one of several different ones and see which ones suit you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

