13 Things I never expected before I was a Mum…

 

1. I never expected that I would ever breastfeed on the toilet.

2. I never expected that some mornings, my baby would eat his breakfast in his highchair, in the bathroom while I have a shower.

3. I didn’t expect that I could make such a wide variety of noises with my mouth- all to amuse a little boy who likes to laugh at his Mum.

4. I never expected that it could be so wonderful to be woken with an open mouth, closed eyes, dribbly kiss first thing in the morning.

5. I didn’t expect to take half an hour to collect the mail from the mail box, stopping to wave to the mailman, the cars driving past, the neighbours….

6. I didn’t expect that each time we arrived home we would greet the ornamental green metal frog like a long lost friend, including kissing and hugging it.

7. Little did I know that I would value breastfeeding so much that I would express milk to provide for a friend’s young baby and another friend’s sick Mother. What a blessing these breasts have been.

8. Who knew that planning a 1st birthday party could be so fun?

9. I didn’t expect that the first time my little boy got gastro would be on his first plane trip.

10. I never expected to spend a plane trip covered in my son’s vomit but still chatting to the lovely woman next to me. (And I’d like to take the chance to thank her for being so understanding)

11. I didn’t expect that I would become so passionate about parenting.

12. I didn’t realise that my husband could be such a wonderful Father and that I could be so proud of him.

13. I didn’t realise that I could ever feel such love for my family. Thank you.

 

 

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mummytiff on September 12, 2009 at 2:28 am

    You have some really lovely ones there Cap! The time spent at the post box and the time put into planning a 1st birthday party really take me back (and my two are only 3 and 18 months so it’s not that far back!). We have a plane flight coming up and I sincerely hope I don’t experience your #10! Although chatting to a lovely woman would be ok but the vomit, not so much!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kats on September 14, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    I have to agree with a lot of those Cap (including first bout of gastro on a plane!). Fantastic list 🙂

    Reply

  3. Wow! Gr8 post!
    As I first time mum of a 6mth old I’m loving all the new experiences (good & bad) that go with being his mummy. If you can’t have some humour & alot of love about it all, you’d go beserk! 😀

    Reply

  4. Posted by Beth on September 20, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Husband was wondering why I was chuckling out loud when I was meant to be hunting!! Love it. Thank you!!

    Reply

  5. Love your list. 🙂

    For some reason the Thursday Thirteen links above don’t work for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

