The Fairy Party – it’s the process, not the product.

As promised!  Tiff I know exactly what you mean – I seriously want to ‘help’ big girl to make whatever she’s doing neater or more colourful.  There’s a very fine line I often slip off between showing her a new idea or easier way and taking over.

As part of the Fairy Party theme we built a diorama of fairies in their native habitat.  I’ve never actually attempted a diorama before but we happened to have a good box sitting there, and while it might look difficult it is actually a lot easier for a little kid than something like a poster.  A poster requires drawing while this involved computers, gluing, cutting and sticking.  It’s also far more interesting than drawing – not only did we get to use all sorts of different materials, we went on a special shopping expedition with just the two of us, not something we get to do all that often.  

Some of the techniques are things she’s done before or fairly similar, some were new, some she adapted.  And some were completely me!  So it was a good combination of starting her in her comfort zone, getting her to experiment, and then doing something completely new.

First I cut out two sides of the box and stabilised it, both of them helped me with sticky tape.  She had decided to build a tree, so we used the green paper as a simple background.

Putting on Flowers

Putting on Flowers

They’re very simple flowers, a variation on ones she’s done before.  Turn the patty pans inside out so you can see the pretty side and scrunch up crepe streamer up in the middle then glue it all together.  Baby girl helped scrunch things up while big girl wielded the glue brush 🙂

Leaves on top

Leaves on top

These leaves are clip art off the computer.  I set up Word and searched for clip art leaves, but she selected the ones she wanted and resized them, then printed them and cut them out.  I was intending to use green paper and the colour printer but had to go and deal with baby girl at the crucial point so she printed them herself.  It’s not a development I’m overjoyed at, but I suppose it shows she’s been watching closely.  And she would rather use the pictures she printed herself than do it again ‘properly.’

Different Materials

Different Materials

This is a pond at the bottom of the tree but it also shows some of the construction materials we used.  There are patty pans, crepe streamers, sheets of paper and card, printed clip art and torn magazines from our collage collection.  The collage collection is a little plastic divided box, when she’s been cutting magazines or coloured paper I tear it up into pieces then we sort it into colours.  It makes a great activity that’s a bit different to pencils or textas, just grab the box and the glue and she can ‘colour in’ large areas really quickly.

Different Stickers

Different Stickers

We also have an enormous sticker collection, including these nifty foam insects.  The fish are sparkly scrapping ones, but the insects just came from Coles (I think. Woolies?).  We pick stickers up all the time at $2 shops and the like, they make an ideal little present and it’s better than buying junk food as a treat!  Stickers are another way that they can make pictures really easily without having to draw.  I have extremely bad fine motor skills, I was the kid who couldn’t trace over the lines when we were learning to write.  So I find it immensely frustrating trying to transfer the designs in my head onto a page when I can barely rule a straight line.  Computers have literally changed my life, allowing me to present in a completely different way.  I’ve also been caught out in a class thinking that drawing was the easy option, then ended up having to ditch the science for an art lesson!  I’m very aware of trying to give my girls lots of opportunities to find different ways to express themselves.

And here’s the whole thing.

Ta-dah!

Ta-dah!

The fairies are clip art that I copied and flipped so they are double sided.  They are stuck together with these cool little squares of double sided foam we found on our shopping expedition and a thread is sandwiched in between, then the butterflies on the top of the tree are stuck over the other end of the string.

She’s had a ball playing with it, taking the fairies down to get a drink, putting them in their beds, flying up the top to eat flowers and leaves.  She even decided that the fairies should visit their friends and flew them over to her countdown calendar!  After a little visit, they went back to hanging out in their tree.

The Tree Fairies visiting the Calendar Fairies

The Tree Fairies visiting the Calendar Fairies

She told me that if the fairies needed a drink in the middle of the night they could call out to her and she would get up and take them.  I can’t wait to see what else she does with it!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by mummytiff on September 16, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I’m SURE I commented on this but I can’t see it anywhere!

    I LOVE it Deb! You guys put our finger painting and playdough to SHAME!

    Reply

  2. Seriously Tiff, it’s just gluing and stickers! But it’s so much fun, and I love having something she can play with at the end. She’s still playing with the fairies, although DH was not impressed yesterday when she said she needed to get up at 6am because her fairies needed a drink!

    Reply

  3. Posted by mummytiff on September 17, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Haha! Did that mean that he needed to get up too? So caring of her to be considering the hydration of her fairies though! Bless 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by plahski on September 18, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Hehehe

    I want to come to the party!!!

    (throwing a tantrum)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

