13 Things that are normal baby behaviour!

The range of normal is wide, if your baby doesn’t do these things they are probably normal too and you’re very lucky!  If your baby does all of these, my sympathy but they really do become toddlers eventually.

  1. Newborns feeding 8-20 times a day and averaging 11, NOT every 4 hours.
  2. Feeding every 2 hours.  Or less.  My second fed every 45 minutes around the clock for the first 3 weeks or so.  She still doesn’t manage every 4 hours at 18 months and she loves her solids as well.
  3. Waking up at night until at least 12 months.  ‘Sleeping through’ means 5 hours, not 12, and quite a few don’t even manage that!
  4. Starting to dribble at 3-4 months – they haven’t learnt to swallow it yet, it’s not teething (necessarily).
  5. Getting much quicker at feeding suddenly around 12 weeks – it has nothing to do with supply, they’ve worked out how to do it!
  6. The 4-month monsters at, well, 4 months.  They start waking up and feeding what feels like all night, because the world is just far too interesting to feed during the day.  And if they’ve been sleeping through it’s a rude shock 🙂
  7. Starting to reach for food, keys, pens, phones, … basically anything you have in your hands from around 4 months.  It doesn’t mean they want solids any more than they want to drive, write or talk, they just want to be like you.
  8. Feeding pretty much continuously in the evenings – it’s called cluster feeding, and yes, they can be hungry again already.
  9. Wanting to suck, and suck, and suck, and suck, and suck a bit more.  It’s got nothing to do with hunger or supply, it’s a comfort thing.
  10. Only sleeping in 40 minute blocks.  This is the length of a baby sleep cycle.  While some will go for 2 or 3 cycles, some will only do 1 no matter how much you pat them.
  11. Waking up 20 minutes after you’ve just got them to sleep – there is a dip in the sedative hormones at that time, a top up should get them back to sleep.
  12. Having days, weeks, months when they just don’t want to be put down.  A good carrier is essential for living with koala baby!
  13. Needing help to learn how to go to sleep.  It’s weird, but it’s a learned skill.

You may also be interested in ‘The Human Baby as an External Foetus’ to explain some of it.

(As an aside, see if you can now describe my children’s feeding and sleeping habits :D)

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

12 responses to this post.

  1. This is so accurate, I want to print it out and give it to all the mothers I work with!!!!!! And make a big chart to put on the wall at the breastfeeding centre – is that okay by you??

    Reply

  2. Posted by Capricious on October 1, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Oh how I wish I had read this list before Smidge was born!

    Reply

  3. […] Interesting if you want to breastfeed I would say that remembering back to my first, these are the most common worries I had. Some of you may find it interesting and useful. https://fusionparenting.wordpress.com…r/#comment-465 […]

    Reply

  4. My youngest grandson is 13! When the expression “It takes a babe to raise a babe” is so true. I couldn’t do this now…it’d kill me.

    My 13 is a mixture of funny and fact this week! I also started my 3rd year of October Halloween Treat hand outs on my blog to all the ‘visitors’ [trick r treaters] who stop by! Come on over!!!! [You’ll need to scroll down a bit below my Thursday Thunks Meme entry to view my 13] Happy day to you….see you at my October Abode!

    Reply

  5. If I’d read this list I might not have had kids 😀

    Reply

    • Posted by Michele on October 3, 2009 at 8:13 pm

      😀
      I would have – would never have believed MY kid could be the same/worse than any one elses 8) ….was going to be the perfect angel…. instead of got the perfect kid for me – cheeky, cute, up all night, and often just after he’s put down for a daysleep, a breastmilk addict with the sweetest smile and the warmest cuddles. He’s exasperating, frustrating and so rewarding, I love him to bits.

      Reply

  6. How I don’t miss it all…
    Have a great Thursday!
    http://iamharriet.blogspot.com/2009/09/woodpeckers-what.html

    Reply

  7. My daughter never wanted to be put down until about 6 1/2 months when she mastered sitting, then she never wanted to be picked up. She was also the queen of random feedings, I never did discern any type of pattern at all. I gave up the sleeping through the night thing real early, any time she slept for even 2 hours was a blessing.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Leonie on October 3, 2009 at 4:53 am

    So true. We’re in the midst of the 4-5 month monster stage right now. Knowing it is perfectly normal natural baby behaviour does make a difference to how I feel and respond.

    Reply

  9. I’m new to this blog and loving it. Just wanted to say this post is so true. I reckon you could add wanting to suck on things is not a sign of teething either. If it is then my daughter was teething for 6 months before her first teeth arrived.

    I just shared this post with my pregnant friends. 🙂

    Reply

    • Glad you’re enjoying it, thanks for sharing 🙂

      My kids didn’t get teeth until 10 months, I got soooo sick of people suggesting they were teething!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

