Pyjama Days

Today I am declaring a Pyjama Day.

I woke up this morning feeling fragile, worn out and tireder than when I went to bed last night. So all plans are off.

I had a few things that needed to be done today, but nothing that can’t wait, so those plans are out the window. Instead, I am sitting in my pyjamas on the lounge with my laptop as (ironically) my baby boy sleeps on in our bed (of course he is laying across the bed- my beautiful starfish)

So today, instead of  today looking like this:

  • ABA meeting,
  • Pick up newsletters from the publisher,
  • Stuff envelopes and label with addresses,
  • Post office
  • Butcher
  • Bakery
  • Fruit and Veg

It now looks like this:

  •   
  •       

Possibilities on the horizon include, but are not limited to: reading ‘Pardon, said the Giraffe’ half a dozen times with my son, building block towers and knocking them down over and over, drawing pictures on the blackboard, having a mid afternoon snooze, blowing bubbles on the deck and hopefully seeing grey skies come over and watching as the clothes on the line get another rinse. And if he keeps sleeping like he is, I may even put on a trashy tv series on DVD and switch off my brain for an hour.

Being a Mum is hard, so when I need a day like this, I try hard not to feel guilty about it. After all, staying in our pyjamas means less washing to do tomorrow.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kathleen on October 3, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I am a firm believer in pyjama days. Usually the first Monday of school holidays is spent in our jammies, reading, watching TV and playing with puzzles. No need to feel guilty about it. In fact, I think they are an essential part of healthy parenting.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michele on October 3, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    That just sounds so wonderful… and the rest will keep 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nat on October 6, 2009 at 9:09 am

    I love pyjama days…don’t do them enough…and, I also don’t do enough housework on normal days to allow myself to watch a TV show or movie (I feel too guilty!)…but I’m starting to think that a once a month veg in front of the TV is a good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

