13 Favourite Books!

 

 ”thursday-13″

 

1. Anything by Enid Blyton – “The Faraway Tree”, “The Wishing Chair”, “Children of Cherry-Tree Farm”, “The Secret Seven”, “The Famous Five”, “The Naughtiest Girl in the School”, “Mallory Towers” and “St Clair’s”. She is probably my all time favourite children’s author.

2. “The Billabong Books” by Mary Grant Bruce.

3. “Anne of Green Gables” and “Emily of New Moon” by L.M. Montgomery.

4. “The Secret Garden” by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

5. “Tom’s Midnight Garden” by Phillipa Pearce.

6. “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis

7. “The Little White Horse” by Elizabeth Gould.

8. “My Friend Flicka” by Mary O’Hara.

9. “Nancy Drew” by Carolyn Keene

 10. “The Hardy Boys” by Franklin W. Dixon, and it was always more exciting when they teamed up with Nancy Drew!

11. “The Trixie Belden Mysteries” written first by Julie Campbell and then by various other authors.

12. “The Obernewtyn Chronicles” by Isobelle Carmody. There has been about a 20 year wait for this series to finish, the end is finally in sight, and I am really looking forward to it!

13. Anything by Roald Dahl – “The BFG”, “James and the Giant Peach” and “Matilda” to name a few, though my favourite would have to be “Roald Dahl’s Revolting Rhymes”!

It was not very surprising that I found it hard to cull this list to just 13, there are so many more that keep popping into my mind! Most of these are for older children, I can’t really remember any favourite picture books, though my daughter has plenty at the moment! I am really looking forward to reading them with her in years to come.

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

9 responses to this post.

  1. Great list. It’s a great reward to instill a love of books in our children.
    Happy T13!

    Reply

  2. The Trixie Belden series is really what bonded my step-mother and me… Sounds silly, but we both LOVE to read. She introduced me to the series, and we suddenly had something to talk about. We’re great friends now (20 years later, LOL).

    My TT: http://mamakitty729.wordpress.com/2009/10/08/084-thursday-13/

    Reply

  3. Such a difference. My list would be full of Science Fiction, Romance, and Manga.

    Reply

  4. Great list!! It would be hard to keep that down to 13, but I think you did a good job at it. I agree with the the fact that the Hardy Boys were always better when Nancy came along!!!

    happy TT!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Nat on October 9, 2009 at 10:54 am

    It is a great list…although it made me laugh as it was actually more than thirteen by the time you got to Anne of Green Gables (you cheated slightly 😉 )
    I’m looking forward to introducing our little ones to some of these greats! My 3 year old was actually given the chronicles of Narnia when he was born by a friend of ours (an english teacher). It will be great to discover things with him!

    Reply

  6. I loved the Billabong books, nice to see them get a mention not many people know of them these days

    Reply

Leave a Reply

