MONDAY MONEY – INVESTMENTS Paying off Debt and Investing for the Future.

My strongest recommendation is to pay off the debt you have, and then plan further investments for the future. Many of us have debt, usually 2 or 3 loans, ranging from short term to long term. With all the loans there are fees and interest that we are paying. It is worth doing a few calculations to see how much you are paying back on all the loans. Once you have done this you will realise how much money you have for future investments.

Starting with the loan (credit card included) with the highest interest rate, how much is the monthly repayment on this account. If it is a credit card then there needs to be a plan not to make any more purchases using the card, the aim is a zero balance and then to get rid of it altogether. Pay the minimum on all other loans and put everything into getting rid of the highest interest.  Once this is achieved, using the monthly payments from the loan you have just paid out, add these to the next highest interest rate loan and pay it out. Adding the 2 amounts together will reduce the loan in next to no time and save you a huge amount in fees and charges. Keep doing this until you have no more loans left.

This sounds so simple, so why is it that we don’t do it? A big reason is discipline! We are not good organisers and really do not handle our finances as well as we would like to. There is always something more important than getting ourselves out of the financial mess we are in from week to week.

I think a fairly new product on the banking scene is the Offset Account. I know more and more people are finding this and starting to use it. I certainly did and it made a difference to my situation. Basically it is an account you have your savings or pay go into. Any interest on the funds is used against a nominated loan account. It is worth talking to your bank about how it all works. They should be able to explain it clearly. The interest that I saved on my loan I added to the repayments and I was able to reduce the loan faster, and in turn save more money.

There is a fine line between investing for the future and paying off debt. I strongly believe that we should be investing for our futures, and those people who make money from having us put money into their funds would agree with me. But I would say that we need to be a little cautious in this area, as we try and sort out what is sound advice and what is perhaps helping keep others employed.

It is all the harder when interest rates are low, there is a real chance to build some savings as I don’t have to pay as much in interest each month. Another way to look at this would be to say, here is a great opportunity to reduce the loan faster and reduce my debt! How many people have looked at this and kept paying the larger amounts into the loan, or have they gone ‘whew’ less strain on the budget and used the money elsewhere. I would hazard a guess to say lots of people have done the latter! I know what I have done in the past, lessen the strain on the budget is usually the path people take.

So how do I plan to make some real changes in my financial situation? My starting point was to look at all my expenses, then my income. From there I developed a budget. 3 simple steps. Making sure that my income was greater than my expenses each fortnight, including payments for loans. Once I had this information I was able to establish what amount I had per fortnight over and above my expenses, and what I could reasonably add to one of the loans I had. With this in place I made sure that I stuck with paying out the first loan. Next as I said before, adding the first payment to the second loan and paying it out. Not long before debt is being reduced very rapidly.

Once you have paid off the loan/s or repaid the money to someone else, you can start to seriously look at your future savings. Over the life of a 30 year home loan, you will have paid back in interest about the same amount as you borrowed. So it stands to reason that if you can repay the money sooner then you will pay less, and therefore start to save sooner.

I really do hope this is understandable as I have had a deal of difficulty putting it together. The main point is to not be paying interest on loans to banks as you try to save for the future, look at paying off your debt and then build a positive investment.

Leave a Reply

