13 Things I Have Learnt This Week

  1. It’s not actually possible for your head to explode.  You may want it to, but that’s another story.
  2. I’m ridiculously in love with my big girl.  She has been so worried about me being sick and she’s been adorable, cleaning, playing with her little sister and a pleasure to be around.
  3. The little one can sleep for 5 hours straight.  Several other nights there’s been a lot of crying, but that one gives us hope.
  4. I’ve never had sinusitis before.  I thought I had, but a dull ache above and below the eyes is nothing to the drill/knife/jackhammer that’s been active this week.  My entire eye socket and even my teeth hurt.
  5. There are actually about 15 trains a day from Rome to Venice, but for some reason I can’t get tickets after the 12th of December.  Later ones had better become available in the next couple of weeks.
  6. There is a Charlie and Lola live show in London on the 23rd of December.  My girls are going to LOVE it.
  7. I’ve worked out how to put together a yoked jacket with a lined hood and bodice with minimal instructions.  Now I just need time to finish the hems and buttons and for baby girl to actually try it on.
  8. It’s ok to let something go.  I always over-commit myself ridiculously and stepping back from something has changed my stress levels enormously.
  9. There is a local woman who does clothing alterations/repairs who put a new zip in my favourite jeans.  Now I just need to lose the weight so they’re comfortable again.
  10. It’s much less painful if you don’t look at everything as you sort it.  Two big boxes of baby clothes ready to go to playgroup and be passed on.
  11. I should have left the corn on the cob for both girls.  They ended up hijacking ours and we ate the kernels I’d cut off for them.
  12. I love my husband.  He’s helping deal with baby girl at night, doing his normal job and painting our new investment property after work.  And he’s been looking after me while I was sick.
  13. Between 1 and 2 is such a happy, loving, exciting, adventurous age.

The purpose of the meme is to get to know everyone who participates a little bit better every Thursday. Visiting fellow Thirteeners is encouraged! If you participate, leave the link to your Thirteen in others’ comments. It’s easy, and fun!

Trackbacks, pings, comment links accepted!

View More Thursday Thirteen Participants

7 responses to this post.

  1. Oh you poor thing, I’ve had sinusitis in the last month, so I can relate to quite a few of these! And corn on the cob has always been one of DD’s favourites!
    Hope you are feeling much better now!

    Reply

  2. My daughter would love to go see Charlie and Lola live!!
    Corn on the cob is the best…..it tastes so much better that way, cutting it off does something to it.

    Happy TT!

    Reply

  3. Number 8 is very wise. Hope you feel better soon. Happy T13!

    Reply

  4. no 2 – wow, you’re raising a beautiful big girl. no 5 as in Rome and Venice, how charming!

    Reply

  5. I’d love to see your new jacket when it’s finished….are you going to post a photo of it?

    My 13 is posted…I’m talking Turkey today. It’s posted below my Thursday Thunks, so if you can find time to visit, just scroll down a bit!!

    Click HERE

    Reply

  6. Hope you feel better.

    Reply

  7. #1 made me LOL. Can I add it to the collection of quotes that rotate on my blog? I think it’s very wise and witty. 🙂

    BTW, happy belated TT.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

