A Happy Post

Just for SquiggleMum!

The other day I tweeted:

“I definitely have the most adorable, special, cute, wonderful, happy, loving children in the whole house.”

Someone else, the wonderful Wonderkarin, asked me why not in the whole of Australia?  I joked a bit, then amended it to ‘the whole world,’ but I’ve been thinking about it since and thought it might be nice to post about it.

I adore my kids, and they’re pretty special.  Apart from the ongoing sleep issue, they really are adorable, special, cute, wonderful, happy and loving.  There’s some normal toddler bickering, and big girl really doesn’t get that other people have a say too.  But she works so hard at listening and loves her little sister so much and is so caring that it’s easy to overlook.  And she’s just turned 4 for goodness’ sake!

Some of it’s luck, the whole genes/environment and personality thing.  Some of it’s circumstance – they have two parents who love them and can give them anything they need and a stable, nurturing environment.  Some of it is hard work on their part, especially big girl.  But I’ll also put my hand up to say some of it has been hard work on my part.  I’ll go against all the cultural conditioning that says I should be modest and say I’m really proud of the job I’ve done so far and I hope I can continue to do as well.

But they’re not the best kids in the world.

There isn’t really any such thing.  What I consider traits to cherish and nurture, someone else will consider bad manners.  What I consider minor annoyances or just being a little kid, someone else will consider mortifying.  And there will definitely be lots of people who think baby girl’s sleep (or lack thereof) disqualify her straight away.  We all have different values we want to pass on to our kids.

Which makes the whole competetive mothering thing absolutely pointless, doesn’t it.  Why would I compare my kids to someone else’s when I don’t want kids like theirs?  I don’t mean that in a bad way, just that I will guarantee that we have different priorities of what we want our kids to be like.  And that’s the other reason I don’t like saying my kids are the best in the world – I’m not competing with anyone and I don’t want to.

My kids are the most gorgeous, caring, kind, smartest, funniest, cuddliest, cheekiest, most confident, curious and just plain fun kids in this house.  They always will be, and that’s all they need to be.  Are yours?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Oh what a beautiful post!! Thank you so much not only for brightening my week, but for reminding me that my imperfect kids are the most sweet, funny, loving, clever little munchkins in this house. Bless you heaps.

    Reply

  2. What inspirational words and a beautiful reminder. Thank you.

    Reply

  3. That’s a great post Deb! And totally true. And yep, my kids are the most amazing in my house too! Although, I happen to think yours are pretty special too 🙂 Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

