Does anonymity breed stupidity?

Or rather should I say, does the anonymity of the internet make it far easier to be sexist, racist, homophobic and so on and so forth?

This week I recieved a forwarded email. It was a poorly written racist rant that started with “When will this stop?”  It moaned about how ‘they’ want to sing our national anthem in foreign languages, how ‘they’ are trying to have certain foods sold in school tuckshops and how ‘we’ Aussies were not ‘consulted’ about this change.

It went on with some other crap which I skimmed over, too incredulous that anyone could send me this until I got to:

‘If you don’t want to forward this for fear of offending someone….YOU’RE PART OF THE PROBLEM!!!!’

Are you kidding me? Does anyone really think I would forward this racist propaganda?

Never, ever in ‘real life’ would anyone dare to talk to me about how ‘Australia will no longer be the country of choice’ if we allow immigration.

And another day this week I logged onto Facebook to find a status update that says that asylum seekers should kill themselves. What?! Who are the people who are writing this utter, utter…words I won’t write!

Is it just me, or are the gutless masses finding solace in a world of anonymity?

Not only did I not forward the email, I replied to all who had been sent it and thanked the sender for reminding us that we live in a country not only blessed with a wide range of cultures and traditions but also with a small (I hope) group of people who are stupid and will blindly forward emails without thinking of the implications to the people around them.

Grrr!

6 responses to this post.

  1. I think that your response was perfect – and I have done the same in the past. It’s incredible to believe that people still believe such things in this day and age. What’s worse is when it comes from family members and you have to tell them (again) that you don’t want their garbage.

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on December 15, 2009 at 12:23 pm

      Sadly, this was from a family member who was nearly disowned. I have also told him since that I might not have received his email lately because I have blocked anyone that sends me anything racist or homophobic. That did the trick!

      Reply

  2. Posted by Nat on December 12, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    The email probably comes from the same people that would complain if all the Thai, Vietnamese, Italian and Indian restaurants shut down because migrants were no longer welcome in Australia.

    And also, they would be the same people who will be forced to work in “lowly” positions because those people who were once welcome into Australia (a place of great opportunities, health, wealth and blessings) were willing to work in, even if they were trained to be doctors in their own country, just because they were grateful to not live in a country where they feared for their lives every day they were there,were sent back to where they came from! Because, you know, us white “Australian’s” could never clean toilets, mop floors, wash dishes or anything else demeaning like that to actually earn a living now could we! We would rather hike up taxes and bludge from the government rather than doing something that actually required hard work!

    Wow…what a rant, but boy it feels good to have your eyes opened doesn’t it!

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on December 15, 2009 at 12:27 pm

      Great point!

      Also, to the people who complain that they aren’t consulted? Are they on a P&C helping to make decisions about what foods the tuckshops sell? Usually not, they just like to sit about and complain after the fact!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Michele on December 12, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    That sort of email always makes me feel sad, angry and frustrated. I’m glad you stood up for what you believe in. I hope there will be more like you who face down the careless cowards.

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on December 15, 2009 at 12:29 pm

      Thank you! I do find it very difficult to stand up for what I believe in, especially as I hate confrontation. But I keep in mind that saying : All it takes for evil to prevail is good people who do nothing.
      It doesn’t make it any easier but it does make it feel worthwhile.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

