The journey to find my waistline (part 1)

Slow and steady.

That’s what I’m counting on to get me there. 3 weeks ago I joined Weight Watchers. Since having my son my weight has gotten out of hand. Well, actually I was not a great weight to start with before I was pregnant, but within a few weeks of having him I had lost all my pregnancy weight plus some. And now, I weight more than I did when I was 40 weeks pregnant. That can’t be good.

So I joined Weight Watchers.

I went camping for a week and missed my first weigh in. The week after I got back I was feeling great, I had been quite dedicated. I know that when you start a diet you usually lose weight quickly in fluids and then it slows down. So I weighed in and had lost…700 grams. Hmph! Well, it’s a start, but not quite the roaring success I had planned.

The next week I started to slip a little, off the side of the wagon (I know, how much self dicipline do I have- can’t even last 3 weeks) but I still took into account some of the lessons I had learnt in that first meeting. I ate breakfast, even lunch! And when I went back to weigh in this week, I had lost another 1.3 kgs. Woohoo! That means I’m 2 kilos down in three weeks. And all of a sudden it’s not looking so bad.

So wish me luck, because I’m going to keep going. That tiny little number has given me the glimmer of motivation that I needed to claw my way back up onto the wagon. I’ll let you know whether I can stay on it after my next weigh in!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michelle on February 5, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Well done! That’s fantastic. My DH has managed to lose and keep off about 15kg over the past year – I’m sooooo proud of him! Don’t get disheartened if you slip a little – the important thing is the longer term πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on February 5, 2010 at 3:09 pm

      Thank you! I really needed to hear that πŸ™‚ Congratulations to your DH, I bet he is appreciating the results every day.

      Reply

  2. Go for it! I had great success with WW online last year, lost a huge amount and kept most of it off. But it’s starting to creep back up so I know I have to do it again to remember all the good habits. Keep posting πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on February 5, 2010 at 11:12 pm

      Thanks Deb, it’s great to hear about the success stories! Will be keeping you all updated and hoping that you can help keep me in line πŸ™‚

      Reply

  3. Posted by Michele on February 5, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    Thank you so much for writing this Cap. I read your opening paragraph and thought “Thank goodness, I’m not the only one” Almost exactly the same story. Was back to prepregnancy weight after birth of my son, then gradually got over the heaviest I’d been while pregnant. At that stage I was too tired to stick to an eating plan.
    Great to read you’re successfully losing weight. After this baby arrives I will try again.

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on February 5, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      Oh MIchele, I’m glad I’m not the only one too! Hopefully by the time your baby is born I can help be your inspiration πŸ™‚

      Reply

  4. Posted by MummyTiff on February 6, 2010 at 1:07 am

    You go Cap!

    I lost 25kg about 10 years ago and have kept it off through 2 pregnancies and hopefully after this one too – obviously not DURING the pregnancy but getting back to that weight afterwards.

    It’s something you will never regret!

    2kg in 3 weeks is fabulous – keep us updated!

    Reply

    • Posted by Capricious on February 6, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      Wow Tiff, that’s great to hear! Only 2 kilos down and I’m starting to feel the benefits, I can only imagine how great 25 kgs must feel!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

